Middlezoy. Last updated 26th Nov 2011
This page contains a selection of old postcards views of the village dating from the early part of the 1900’s, and new photos from recent times for comparison.
There are a number of interesting buildings including the church, several Methodist chapels, old thatched houses and farmhouses, and many other interesting features.
The picture above is part of an old postcard view, and shows an old
thatched house on the left, that used to stand along
Jim Kick lived with his brother Cecil in the white house on the right. Cecil used a 2 seater Morris Cowley and changed it into a motor mower. Bert Biddlecombe, who was brought up in Iddlesly House, just around the corner on the right, designed and built the first one, Cecil Kick built the second one, and Walter Bown of ‘The Stores’, main road, built the third one in the village. (Picture immediately below)
The above paragraph of info was provided by the late Mr W C Bown (Walter, Walt or Wally Bown) on 050108.
Take a trip up
Now compare these pics of the thatched houses on post office corner, arranged roughly in chronological order.
Now a telegraph pole appears and one house has lost
A modern picture, the house on the right now has its thatch back and the wall on the inside of the bend is gone.
Old Postcard views of Middlezoy …
A web page devoted to old postcard views of the village……
To look at old postcards of other areas nearby, such as Bridgwater, Burnham on Sea and other villages such as Othery, Westonzoyland, High Ham, etc, go to: http://dbown100.tripod.com/POSTCARDs.htm
Modern pictures of Middlezoy …
A walk around the village from the junction of Moor road and the A372, up Main rd, up Old Chapel rd, and then to the church. Various other views included.
These views start inside the church, and then go down the hill to the school, to the thatched houses on post office corner, then finally to a view of what was Coates farmhouse.
These views start on Main road, near the Moor rd
junction, and then proceed along Main rd down past
These views start out with a walk to Windmill hill, some views across the countryside from there, and then the walk back to the church past the brick council houses.
These are various views from the church tower looking down on the village.
The Wesleyan Methodist Church of 1898. WMC
For modern pictures of other
Write to me at ………….
Anyone remember this place. >>>>>>>>>
'The Stores' ,
After he died, the old house was pulled down and 3
bungalows were built on the land. Doris Palmer, one of
his daughters, lived in one of them until she died in 1999.
The picture above is part of an old postcard view, and shows a view looking north along Church road, with a hay cart passing the school. Children stand in the road watching.
Close ups taken from some of the views in the ‘Greetings’ postcard, ‘mzoy10’.
Junction at top of the hill near the church? Post office corner. Note no telegraph/elec poles in this picture.
Who are these people with the dog ? When did electricity & telephones come to the village???
Close up pic mzoypc4a
Close up of children and chapel mzoypc1a
Looking towards the new chapel (1898) with the school wall View looking south from the church tower
just behind the children. Old chapel (1847) on right of picture. Note all the round haystacks.
Was there a slaughterhouse on rhs in front of children? See the actual card at mzoy16
The church Inside the church.
See the actual card at mzoy25
Any comments ? Write to me at .
Middlezoy Timeline: Sources; BHO = British History Online, KD = Kellys
Directories, MBS =
BM = Bridgwater Mercury
1305 There was a windmill at Langdon (BHO)
1815 Vicarage (present) built
1843 Board school erected as a church school(KD 1902)
1847 Wesleyan Methodist chapel built
1861 population 725 (KD1861)
1874 May 11th ; School Board of 5 members formed. (KD 1894)
1875 Feb 2nd ; School opens (MBS)
June; Scarlet fever in the village lasts until November (MBS)
1877 January; 7ft of water between the village and Moorland. 4 men drowned at Westonzoyland. (MBS)
1880 Total Abstinence Society formed ?(BM)
1882 Jan 11th A meeting of the Total Abstinence Society in the school room.(BM)
July The Middlezoy Brass band was recently formed (BM July 26th 1882)
1891 March 11th ; Mission Hall in use by Total Abstinence Society (BM 1891)
1898 New Methodist Chapel built
1922 Church tower and south roof restored (KD1927)